- The museum is in the original 1883 schoolhouse, displaying educational tools from the town's mining era.
- Located in the center of town, take a look at the old desks, readers, projectors and typewriters.
- The annex, with newspapers, books, photographs and more, is the only archival depository in Summit County.
The Dillon Schoolhouse Museum has survived a number of different stages in its existence. Starting as a schoolhouse in 1883, it served the growing mining community until 1910 when a larger school was constructed. The building was then used as a church until 1962 when the construction of Dillon Dam forced it to be relocated to the current location on La Bonte Street.
The construction of a new church in 1972 prompted the community to transform the traveling building into a museum to showcase the turn-of-the-century educational tools available to teachers in the mining communities. McGuffy desks, Heath readers and a kerosene projector are only some of the historic gems hiding here. There is also a general store and blacksmith shop adjacent to the museum, containing artifacts and miniatures from the era.
For those interested in perusing the local historical society's archives, the annex to the Dillon Schoolhouse Museum is the only archival depository in Summit County, holding newspapers, books, maps, photographs and more.
The Dillon Schoolhouse Museum is located on La Bonte St., just a few blocks west of Main St.
403 La Bonte Street
- Summer (late-June to Labor Day)
Tues - Fri 11 am -3 pm
By appointment only
- $5 donation